• 21-JUL-2015

Gatorade Player of the Year

Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award surprise

In 1985, The Gatorade Company established an award with an important goal: to honor America’s elite high school athletes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Since then, the Gatorade Player of the Year program has become one of the most prestigious high school athletic awards in the nation. 

For 30 years, Gatorade has honored more than 14,000 State Players of the Year and 280 National Players of the Year. That list includes many of today’s top professional athletes, such as Peyton Manning, Lisa Leslie, Kevin Love, Maya Moore, Kerri Walsh, Derek Jeter and Joe Mauer. Gatorade has recognized National Players of the Year in football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls soccer, boys and girls basketball, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field. In addition to athletic excellence, the Gatorade Player of the Year award’s criteria includes recognition of academic achievement and exemplary character.