• 14-JUL-2016

2016 Gatorade Athlete of the Year Announcement

Gatorade AOY 3

On Tuesday, July 12, 2016, the 2016 Gatorade Athlete of the Year awards were awarded to Jayson Tatum and Sydney McLaughlin. Tatum was named Male High School Athlete of the Year and McLaughlin was named Female Athlete of the Year during the star-studded awards dinner inside the LA Hotel Downtown in Los Angeles.

About the Gatorade Player of the Year Program

In its 31st year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Player of the Year Program recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field. 

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by USA TODAY High School Sports and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.